History is an important part of the present in Webster Parish, where we value our heritage and vow to preserve the things that have made us who we are. Webster Parish is home to 130 properties on the National Registry of Historic Places. Minden’s Historic Residential District includes 71 properties, including homes and churches dating as early as the 1850’s. Styles range from Greek Revival to early Georgian.
For more information on the Historical Residential District, visit www.mindenhrd.com.
Webster’s Main Street Communities
Minden Main Street
Minden was established in 1836 by Charles Hans Veeder. The approval for the laying of our brick streets was on October 2, 1917. Minden’s Historic Main Street Districts attract history and architecture buffs as well as shoppers and diners. Minden has maintained much of its historic integrity, including its early 1900’s brick Main Street, beautiful parks and sidewalk benches reminiscent of years past. The area offers antique shops, restaurants, gift stores, and more.
Springhill Main Street
Visit Historic Downtown Springhill! The area is thriving with a local farmers market, boutiques and dining options. Enjoy the unique experience of visiting the fully restored historic Spring Theater on Main Street offering a nostalgic experience and first run movies in an old time theater with the largest screen in North Louisiana. For more information and show times call (318)539-6684.
Discover our love of old homes
Built around 1870, this double gallery home is located on North Broadway Street in Historic Downtown Minden. It features carpenter trim railing and was build by S. J. Vance, whose wife was related to a later owner, William Sugg.
Built in 1845, the Bates-Irving home is one of the oldest homes in North Louisiana. It was originally a Federal-Greek Revival home, but was remodeled in the 1920s with a Mount Vernon style portico and prominent dormers.
Built in 1902, the Fitzgerald House is a one-and-a-half story, wood frame, transitional Queen Anne-Colonial Revival residence close to downtown Minden. The house was built for lumberman, Edward Eugene Fitzgerald who was the manager of Minden Lumber Company, an industrial giant that opened in 1902.